Chartership, or MCLIPping along

This blog is part of my Chartership process, but it is not about that process- well most of the time. Really I’m using the blog to put down my ideas about issues in librarianship.

 One of these relates to the Chartership thing. What is its place in a deprofessionaling world? How do we convince people of the value not only of library qualifications but also library CPD?

By doing our jobs well is one answer; by showing the value of the time taken to reflect on what we do and the effort invested in becoming a better librarian/information professional. And thus claiming a place for people who see librarianship as a career and something which requires dedication and thought.

In terms of the process, I’ve certainly found that writing down the things I’ve done, both successful and not, has helped me to learn more from them. And the discipline of the process overall is useful. I’m still not sold on portfolios and a 1000 word limit mind you.

Some have suggested a return to Apprenticeship and exams, which sometimes appeals to me.

Leave a comment