Library of Birmingham

I used to live and work in Brum. I was disappointed when the Library of Birmingham project was delayed owing to political changes.

Seems it’s back on track. The vision is comprehensive and does at least mention books 😉 I hope that money can be found to make good on its promise to be a ‘centre for reading…literature’ and so forth. That cash is not diverted into shiny-buildingness or the cybercafe aspect. It should be possible to provide a top-level bookstock and access to the net; it shouldn’t be either/or.

I do wonder how much of the feedback the council received in the initial consultation has been heeded. I wonder what happened to my postcard of dreams…

Leave a Reply

