Umbrella 2007

As well as following up on the public library debate, CILIP Update and Gazette covered Umbrella 2007. It’s now just 23 days away! Thanks to Michael for the countdown on the Clippers Umbrella wiki.

It’s good to know you get a notepad in your conference pack 😉 The rooms also have wireless internet access, so there may be some blogging from the conference.

I’m hoping not only to hear some good stuff in the sessions, but to meet and greet some of the people I’ve ‘met’ online, and to generally chat about all sorts of library stuff. And non-library stuff!

I shall be focusing on information literacy and e-learning, as my employers will find that most useful, but I have some time of my own to choose sessions on other topics.

2 Responses to Umbrella 2007

  1. Michael says:

    I asked about t’internet access this morning, and this is the reply I got:

    “The internet connection in the bedrooms is by a plug in cable. These cables will be available when you check in if required. Alternatively the main atrium area near your seminar rooms has a wireless network that could be used in your seminar breaks.”

    So it’s wired access in the rooms – presumably either RJ45 Ethernet or some sort of dongle. A bit of a bummer, as I’ve only got a wireless PCMCIA card. 😦 But I’ll see if I can source a dirt-cheap Ethernet card for my laptop…

  2. Pete says:

    Thanks for that Michael

Leave a Reply

